About Us

Microbiology has a distinguished history at The University of Chicago. The Department of Microbiology has been home for the renowned scientists Howard Taylor Ricketts, William H. Taliaferro, Lowell T. Coggeshall, William Burrows and James Moulder. Howard Taylor Ricketts identified rickettsiae as the causative agents of Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever and Typhus. William Taliaferro and Lowell Coggeshall, both members of the National Academy of Sciences, served as Chairman of the Department and eventually Deans of the Division of Biological Sciences. Successive editions of Burrows' Medical Microbiology were the standard textbook of medical schools for decades. Jim Moulder was chairman of the Department of Microbiology and a leader in chlamydial research. Bernard Roizman, the Joseph Regenstein Distinguished Service University Professor, trained students and fellows in Virology beginning in 1965. Roizman and colleagues established the modern field of Herpesviruses and nurtured its intellectual leaders.

More than 200 graduate students received a Ph.D. in Microbiology at the University of Chicago. We are very proud of our graduates, many of whom have achieved national recognition or even world fame.